Homemade Granola and an Anniversary

This has been the most difficult week for rising early. Before Daylight Saving Time started, waking at 5:30 was no problem. Now, when my body still thinks the new 5:30 is 4:30, it’s harder than ever to get out of bed. But I made it. A little late, but here I am.

Sunday night I was in the mood for something a little different from the usual, and found this recipe for grain-free, dairy-free granola from the Seasonal Family. (There are some mouth-watering photos over at that site, and I highly recommend it for a detailed step-by-step of the granola-making process.) My kitchen table became a sprawling mess as I worked.

2013-03-12 granola tableBut I ended up with some tasty treats. I used pistachios, almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, and sunflower seeds, and left out the cacao nibs (not SCD legal). For the cup of dried fruit I used raisins.

2013-03-12 granola

I nommed on a few of these sweet and savory morsels before going to bed. Unfortunately, my body did not like all those nuts and I felt terrible the next day. I ended up leaving work for a few hours to recuperate, but I felt better by early afternoon and then worked from home. So it looks like Colin will be eating a healthy snack this week. But the recipe isn’t a total loss—I think I’ll reuse the mixture of wet ingredients (peanut butter, coconut oil, honey, vanilla, sea salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg heated in a saucepan) to make a dip for fruit or else a pseudo-fudge by cooling it in the fridge/freezer.

It was also our anniversary, and Colin sent me flowers at work! I wasn’t there to get them, but after a few phone calls the delivery man was wonderful enough to come drop them off at our house, and before long I had a colorful spring bouquet.

2013-03-12 anniversary flowers

I hadn’t eaten anything all day, so after my stomach cooled down we went out for sushi (sashimi for me). Raw fish wouldn’t be the idea of a soothing meal for most, but for some reason my stomach can always handle it and it puts me in a happy place. It’s become a comfort food for me. Since soy sauce is not SCD legal, normally I make this “SCD Asian sauce” recipe (which I’ve heard comes from Raman Prasad’s SCD cookbook). But I didn’t have fresh ginger on hand and wanted something quick. I tried out a very simple soy sauce recipe I came up with on the fly and was pleased with the results.

Simple Soyless Sauce

  • 1 Tbsp coconut aminos
  • 1 tsp honey (or more to taste)
  • Dash salt
  • Dash garlic salt

Mix ingredients together, stirring well to dissolve the honey. Makes 1 serving.

I’ll likely experiment with different spices just to see what happens, but it’s a pretty good base. I can’t wait to try it out as a stir fry marinade.

Leave a Reply

