Realness

It’s starting to feel real: in two days I will be on a boat drifting in the Caribbean. Nutsanity! Until then, there’s been a lot to do at work that’s kept me busy. A colleague has been on vacation this week, and with me out next, there’s been plenty to keep on track and moving through the editorial process. Tomorrow I have a 156-page manuscript to plow through. Oy!

Tonight I plan to get all my ducks in a row in terms of doing laundry, compiling various necessary documents, and picking up a few odds and ends. I need to get a new hairbrush and some toothpaste to take with me. Start charging my camera batteries. Maybe pick up a Lonely Planet Caribbean guide if I can get my hands on one. I’m a fan of LP and usually browse through a copy before I go anywhere, but I may skip it entirely this time around. This trip feels looser, more go with the flow-y. I don’t want to stress myself out trying to squeeze in side trips just for the sake of having checked it off a list. This trip, being there will be enough.

I feel so fortunate to have my parents in good health that they can make these kinds of trips. Who knows how much longer we’ll all have together; might as well make the most of it with a jaunt in the Caribb!

This month, I have been participating in Fitocracy’s Spark Challenge. Each month there is a new challenge requiring about 15 minutes’ worth of effort for 15 days or more. Every time you log the activities (April’s challenge consists of circuits), you get a “spark.” Collect 15 sparks and you get a very snazzy badge of Arnold Schwarzenegger. I am determined to get this badge. I joined sometime around April 8, which means I was already at a disadvantage to getting all my sparks in this month. It will be particularly trying to make sure I stay on track while I’m vacationing—even though there’s a gym on board, how much motivation will I have to keep exercising in paradise? At least it’s only 15 minutes, and hopefully I can get our room to myself for the four circuits of squats, push-ups, planks, jumping jacks, reverse lunges, and glute bridges. (Did I mention I’m sharing a room with my parents? Oh boy.) Or else I’ll just have to suck it up and grunt away as I push myself off the floor again and again, avoiding eye contact with my dad.

Leave a Reply

