The Best Part of Waking Up

Before I go to sleep, I set my alarm for 5:30 with the loftiest intentions of popping out of bed the moment the alarm goes off, then plunking myself down in front of the computer to chirp out a zippy blog post, and then possibly get a little extra creative writing done. It never works out that way.

Once the alarm goes off, I hit the snooze button to send myself back into eight minutes of dreamy reverie, then once those blissful but short minutes have passed, I usually hit the snooze again. This gives me another six minutes of lazing in bed, recapping the dreams I just had, thinking about how I should really get up, pondering what to write about. When I finally do get up, it’s somewhere around 5:45, and it’s usually because I can’t put off going to the bathroom any longer. Then I’ll usually take care of some other urgent calling, such as watering the somewhat neglected plants. (They are supposed to get a drink every Sunday, so today they are a bit late in getting their thirst quenched.) When I finally sit down to write, it is somewhere around 5:50, which leaves me about 40 minutes to tap out a little song and dance routine before I have to get ready for work. This is sometimes enough time for a blog post, depending on photos and so on (I have several drafts of unfinished posts in my queue, with time being the main prohibitive factor); it is never enough time for a blog post and some creative writing.

However, I always go to bed with the best intentions of blogging in the morning. I look forward to it, yet it takes me a little time to get going in the AM. I muse on getting up an hour earlier, at 4:30. From the comfortable distance of 6 AM, rising at 4:30 doesn’t seem that bad. However, in practice I think this feat would become downright Herculean. So I’ve either got to start writing faster, or start waking up at the crack of 5:30, if not a smidge earlier. Hmm. I think I may need to ponder this some more, perhaps tomorrow morning as I lay in bed.

Questions for Fellow Bloggers

  • How long does it take you to blog?
  • When do you typically blog?

I think it takes me about 45 minutes to write out something I’m comfortable with, including editing and uploading photos and fiddling with HTML codes. I typically blog in the mornings before I get ready for work. On the weekends, I blog when I wake up and occasionally in the afternoons.

Leave a Reply

