Strawberry Smoothie Criminal

I’m having quite a fun time with these morning smoothies. After months of the same weekday breakfast (two fried eggs, bacon if I’m lucky, and orange juice), I’m taking advantage of the freedom these smoothies are giving me to create a new recipe each day.

close up strawberry smoothie

Wednesday I picked up frozen whole strawberries at the grocery store (under $4 for 32 oz! so much cheaper than fresh), and I was looking forward to trying them out yesterday morning.

Thursday’s smoothie had:

  • frozen whole strawberries
  • a banana
  • orange juice
  • pineapple juice
  • peanut butter (about a tablespoon)
  • honey (about 1.5 teaspoons)

Here’s how all the ingredients looked before I blended them up. Check out that ploop of peanut butter! Mmm! (If ploop isn’t a word, I’m coining it now.)

Strawberry smoothie ingredients

I added the peanut butter because I felt like I needed a protein punch after working out and eating a relatively light dinner the night before. I drizzled in the honey to offset the tartness of the strawberries and sweeten up the peanut butter. If you’re using regular peanut butter, the honey’s not really necessary since there’s usually sugar or high fructose corn syrup (ew) already in there. Or if you’re vegan, you’d want to skip the honey anyway. Agave nectar might work well in this, too. The peanut butter really helped to thicken up the smoothie, so it ended up being quite dense and hearty.

These smoothies are so easy to modify. I haven’t included any measurements in these “assemblages” since I just throw things together, eyeballing what seems like a sufficient amount. And it’s been working out perfectly—I’ve been blending up exactly the right amount of smoothie to fill a tall (16 oz) glass without leftovers.

What do you put in your smoothies?

Leave a Reply

