Silky Strawberry Smoothie

For most people, biting into a fresh strawberry is a hallmark of summer. In a few more weeks, the plump, red berries will be plucked from their low runners, dusted off, and popped into mouths eager to crush the sun-warmed juice out of them. I’m looking forward to that first official taste of summer, but I know one person who isn’t.

This person is a friend who can’t stand strawberries. It’s not the taste that bothers her; what drives her crazy is the seeds getting stuck in her teeth. And that annoyance is enough to make her avoid strawberries like a crazy ex who just won’t quit. When I took my first sip of this smoothie, I couldn’t help but think of my friend and her strawberry seed phobia. Though I used whole strawberries, the Vitamix pulverized the seeds and turned this recipe into a seedless strawberry slurp.

strawberry yogurt smoothie recipe

Silky Strawberry Smoothie

  • 1 cup homemade or plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1-2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/3 cup pineapple juice

Blend together for about 30 seconds or until well blended. Makes 1 tall (20-oz.) serving.

My Vitamix only has two settings, low and high, and I set it to low and let it work its magic until everything looks thoroughly combined. If I let it go for too long, it can get a bit frothy, which works for some people, but I want it to retain that thick smoothie consistency.

Use your best judgement on the honey. I used about a tablespoon and the smoothie was slightly tart. The next time I make it, I’ll probably go with about a tablespoon and a half. (I like my smoothies sweet!)

Leave a Reply

