Peanut Butter Pudding

Yesterday I found a recipe for Peanut Butter Pudding on the SCDiet.org site, and thought I’d give it a try. I had all of the ingredients readily available, and it looked easy enough to whip up.

And whip up it did! It turned out like more of a mousse than a pudding.

SCD Peanut Butter Pudding

The only ingredients are:

  • banana (very ripe for SCD)
  • peanut butter (no additives)
  • yogurt (homemade for SCD)
  • vanilla extract (SCD legal)

I omitted the optional salt since the peanut butter was salted. It turned out a little bit tart and just a skosh more on the savory than sweet side. Since my yogurt was unsweetened, all of the sugars came from the single banana. Next time I make this, I’ll add a bit of honey to sweeten it up, or perhaps another half banana. (I’m not sure how the honey would affect how the dish sets up—it may turn out a bit runnier.) The pudding has a consistency that’s somehow both thick and fluffy, and sticks to the spoon like meringue.

I have a feeling this pudding would make a fantastic filling for a peanut butter pie. My mom always makes peanut butter pie in the summer, but her recipe uses Cool Whip. I would love to find a suitable SCD substitute. And with only natural fruit sugars, this peanut butter pudding recipe may even be diabetic-friendly. Diabetes has started to crop up in my family, so the less sugary treats around, the better.

Overall, this was a quick, easy dessert that would satisfy any sweet cravings. I tasted it straight out of the Vitamix and it was a little warm; you definitely want to refrigerate before serving, as the recipe suggests. Happy cooking!

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Pudding

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Piggy Pie - Daily Dish with Foodie Friends Friday~Daily Dish with Foodie Friends Friday

    • That looks delicious! But not SCD-compliant with the whipping cream, confectioner’s sugar, chocolate, and peanut butter sandwich cookies. Though I wonder if I could come up with a version that’s suitable for the Specific Carbohydrate Diet…love the bacon in it!

Leave a Reply

