My SCD Anniversary

Today it has officially been one year since I started the Specific Carbohydrate Diet. I can’t even begin to summarize the major transformation I’ve experienced because of this diet.

One year ago:

  • I weighed 89 lbs.
  • I was taking Imuran and Prednisone to control a raging Crohn’s flare, with sprinklings of doctor-prescribed Flagyl and Metronidazole.
  • I scheduled a CAT scan to try and figure out what was going on with my body.
  • I consulted with a surgeon about having surgery if my Crohn’s flares got any worse.

Here’s what I looked like at the end of July 2012, when I ran in the Color Run:

 The Color Run 2012

Today:

  • I weigh 97 lbs (still skinny, but far closer to normal).
  • I am medication-free—no Imuran, no Prednisone, no antibiotics.
  • I have eliminated sugars, grains, soy, yeasts, starches, and processed foods from my diet.
  • I am well on my way to good health!

Here’s what I look like today, in that same outfit.

Me in 2013

Obviously pretty tough, but I’m getting there! I’ve regained some of the muscle definition I lost and overall feel much healthier than I did a year ago. I don’t lie awake at night in pain, wondering if I’m going to have part of my intestines removed. I don’t think about what it would be like to have a colostomy bag to change. And, perhaps most surprisingly, I don’t think about the foods I no longer eat. Can you imagine giving up chocolate? Pizza? Sandwiches? What about store-bought candy, ice cream, soda, cake, chips, burritos, french fries, pasta, bread, cocktails, beer, crackers, mozzarella, milk, or tomato sauce? Or any kind of ethnic food (sushi, pad Thai, pork fried rice, dumplings, palak paneer, Korean galbi)? Bye-bye, tacos. So long, tofu pups. Peace out, edamame. Sure, it’d be great to eat those things again. And maybe some day, once I’ve completely healed, I will (in teeny, miniscule amounts). But knowing what I know now, and understanding just how much of a connection there is between food and health, I don’t think I could go back to the way I used to eat, throwing whatever I wanted into my body, ever again.

I’m proud to have started this diet, to have stuck with it, and to continue to heal my body by following it. I’m proud to share my story, and to educate others about the Specific Carbohydrate Diet and the incredible power you have over your own health just by changing the food you eat. Hippocrates said it best: Let food be thy medicine.

2 thoughts on “My SCD Anniversary

Leave a Reply

