Food and Fireworks

I hope you all had a safe and happy Fourth of July yesterday. Ours was very low key. Like last year, we watched the fireworks and city lights sparkling off the calm waters of Back Cove.

Fourth of July Fireworks

It’s such a nice, relatively quiet spot (a few people nearby were setting off their own fireworks) and we can walk home without having to fight the nutty traffic. Perfect.

The day before, Colin had worked a 12-hour day, while my company closed early for the holiday. (We had a company barbecue and were told very good news that we would all be restored to our full hours starting next week.) So with this luxury of stolen time on my hands, I cooked up some new recipes from the Breaking the Vicious Cycle book.

First I made the Honey-Garlic Chicken Wings recipe, substituting drumsticks for wings. I also didn’t have any lemons on hand, so I used apple cider vinegar instead. I cooked them at 350° F for the recommended 15 minutes, then another 15 minutes, then I turned them and cooked them for about 15 minutes more.

While the chicken was cooking, I decided to give the Applesassies recipe on page 136 of Breaking the Vicious Cycle a try. It’s basically an apple cake with nuts and raisins. I used pre-made applesauce (no sugar or additives) rather than homemade, and substituted pecans for walnuts. I lined my baking pan with buttered parchment paper since the Wilton Ultragold pan I have tends to scorch the bottoms of my baked goods.

SCD apple cake

Colin was just getting home when the chicken was getting done, so I threw on some broccoli and cauliflower to steam, and then melted some freshly shredded cheddar cheese on top. When I was a kid, my mom would drape a slice of Kraft American cheese on top of the veggies and nuke the dish in the microwave. So my version wasn’t quite the same, but it was a touch healthier and SCD legal, and satisfied the craving I’d been having for that cheesy comfort food.

All the recipes were a hit! I was thinking the chicken recipe might too closely resemble the honey-garlic ribs we love, but the flavors were different. The honey-garlic sauce was so good—tangy and salty-sweet. I think it’d make an awesome marinade for tofu for those following a vegetarian diet. The applesassies were moist and flavorful. Next time I make the recipe, I will likely leave out the raisins; Colin liked them, but I’m not a super huge fan of raisins in my baked goods. They’re great in cookies that need an extra burst of juicy flavor, but this cake was so moist on its own that I think it could do without. I could also see myself adapting this recipe for a coffee cake; it’s versatile enough to use as a dessert or as a breakfast side (which we did yesterday—eggs, coffee, and applesassies: yum).

Aaaand, we have some left over today, so I’m going to go hit that for breakfast. Love having baked goods in the morning!

Leave a Reply

