Recipe Review: Comfy Belly’s Salted Pecan Sandies

Sunday afternoon I had a craving for cookies, so I scoured the web for a recipe that sounded simple and tasty. I settled on Comfy Belly’s Salted Pecan Sandies and cooked up a batch.

pecan cookies

After I combined the wet and dry ingredients, the dough looked dry and crumbly, so I added an egg and stirred well to mix it in. This turned the dough into more of a muffin batter, and I briefly toyed with the idea of pouring it into a loaf pan to make pecan-almond bread. Perhaps another time—I wanted cookies. I also used coconut oil instead of butter.

Halfway through balling up the sandies and setting them on the cookie sheets, I ran out of parchment paper. I readjusted the sandies I’d already placed and squeezed a few more onto the parchment I had. Luckily there wasn’t too much leftover dough. I left off the optional sprinkling of coarse sea salt on top, stuck both sheets in the 300° F oven, set the timer for 20 minutes, and then started watching Sofia Coppola’s Somewhere. With about 7 minutes left on the timer, I swapped both cookie sheets so the cookies would bake evenly. Then, with just a minute left on the timer, I took both sheets out and quickly transferred the cookies to a plate so they could cool. Unfortunately, all of the bottoms were a little burnt.

black cookie bottom

They still tasted great, and I could barely detect a scorched taste. The insides stayed soft and cake-like, probably on account of the added egg. The directions had warned that they’d spread, but mine stayed relatively plump and round. So I’d say mine turned out more like pecan muffin bites.

Cookie bite

Nevertheless, they are tasty little morsels. And with just a quarter cup of honey, they’re not too sweet. And, the day after, they still have a good consistency. I covered my cookies with plastic wrap and left them on a plate on the kitchen table. It’s been hot and humid since, and though the outside of the cookies became a little tacky like macaroons, I think that may be owing to the coconut oil I used. They are scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

