Procrastination Station

You know when you have 40 billion things to do and you somehow end up putting them all off? Those days when you have so many items on your To Do list that you don’t even know where to start. Today is one of those days for me, and the Lunar Milk train is taking a prolonged stop at Procrastination Station.

I took the day off from work so I could get organized for Wine & Yarn Weekend, a gathering of friends at a coastal cottage up north to drink wine, spin yarns (literally and metaphorically), knit, crochet, and in general have a relaxing weekend. It’s an awesome release and our organizer, Elise, the creator of Nerd Wars, has been graciously hosting this event for a few years now.

Last year was my first time joining the knitters of W&Y, and I was just a few weeks in to the Specific Carbohydrate Diet. I brought homemade yogurt, almond-butter brownies, hard-boiled eggs, and ingredients for Liz’s Fish Dish, the first meal that Colin ever made for me. (I was overjoyed to find that, with a few tweaks, the Fish Dish could be SCD-legal.) Everything was tasty, but this year I’m determined to step up my game and bring some SCD dishes that are a little more sophisticated: the delicious and reliable banana bread from Comfy Belly as well as a new recipe, pecan pie. I’m still on the fence about bringing deviled eggs, which I’ve made before with great success, but I’m not sure how well they’d survive the hour-and-a-half trip to the cottage. If not that, then I think some other savory treat will be in the works.

So I went to bed last night with grand plans of waking early to start baking. However, this morning I woke at the leisurely hour of 9:00. Once I roused myself and made up the bed, I discovered that Colin was home as well. I had expected to have the whole apartment to myself, and when someone else is around, it’s a lot harder to get to work on the day’s tasks. We cooked up bacon and eggs and sipped steaming mugs of coffee, and reveled in the pleasures of an unhurried morning together. But now the morning has zipped by and I’ve yet to start in on my baking. And I still have ingredients to pick up!

Now I’m off to jot down my ingredients and stop by the grocery store, then bake, bake, bake, and squeeze in a run once these rain clouds burn off. And then tomorrow I’m driving up to the cottage on the coast—next stop: Relaxation Station.

Leave a Reply

