Recipe Review: Elana’s Pantry’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Okay, now I know what you’re going to say. “Chocolate isn’t allowed on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet! What can I do with a chocolate chip cookie recipe?” The answer? Pretty much anything you want.

This vegan cookie recipe from Elana’s Pantry (which also happens to be on the back of 5-lb bags of Honeyville Almond Flour) is so easily adaptable that you can omit the chocolate chips and throw in practically any ingredients you have on hand. At least, that’s what I did. I subbed walnut pieces and chopped up Medjool dates for the chocolate chips (as well as a 1/2 cup of honey in place of the non-SCD-legal agave nectar). The batch turned out better than I’d even dreamed—crisp yet moist, salty and sweet, and more cookies than you can shake a stick at. The recipe easily makes two dozen, and in my case it was closer to three dozen since I made them a tad small (about 2 inches in diameter).

Cookies with walnuts, dates, honey, almond flour

What I like most about these cookies is how closely they resemble a traditional Toll House cookie. All the almond flour cookie recipes I’ve tried so far have resulted in cookies that, however tasty, are a far cry from the cookies Mom used to make. These ones come surprisingly close. I’m looking forward to adapting this recipe using other SCD-legal ingredients: raisins? coconut flakes? macadamia nuts? Whatever my little chocolate-free heart so desires.

Leave a Reply

