Halloween Classics

I’ve caught the Halloween spirit, which means I’m watching all the horror offerings on Netflix I typically ignore. Sunday Colin and I watched Re-Animator, a campy 1985 classic based on a short story by H.P. Lovecraft. It boasts a surprisingly solid 93% freshness rating on RottenTomatoes.com. If you’re in the mood for a “scary” movie that doesn’t take itself too seriously, this is a fun little film to watch.

NSFW warning: This trailer includes gore and butts.

On the milder side of cinema, this is the time of year when I break out my DVD of Garfield holiday classics and watch Garfield’s Halloween Adventure. Major childhood nostalgia hits me and I get filled with warm fuzzies sitting in front of the TV wrapped in a blanket, sipping insert-your-favorite-hot-beverage.

And everybody loves It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown. It’s basically a requirement of United States citizenship to watch that every year. But what about new cinematic Halloween treats? Apparently the full version of Dr. Seuss’s Halloween Is Grinch Night is available on YouTube. I’m afraid this is a Halloween special that’s slipped under my radar. Fortunately, I believe this is a situation I’ll be remedying posthaste.

What are your favorite Halloween specials and scary movies? What puts you in the spooky spirit?

Leave a Reply

