Cornless Cornbread

I don’t know what came over me last night, but I had a hankering for cornbread like nothing else. I used to get the ready-made pans of it at the grocery store, back in the day, back in my life before the Specific Carbohydrate Diet. I figured there had to be some grain-free recipe kicking around, just waiting for my eager paws to land on.

This recipe for almond flour “cornbread” turned out to be just the thing. A mere five ingredients are all that’s needed to bake up a delectable, golden side.

almond flour cornbread

I like to use a buttered glass pie plate rather than an 8-by-8 square pan (fewer burnt bottoms, more tasty noms).

The recipe is surprisingly similar to the one for Deanna’s Midas Gold Pancakes featured in Breaking the Vicious Cycle. This is my go-to pancake recipe and it never disappoints, especially when you throw in some blueberries, ah, mah, gah. A few recipe tweaks, a preheated oven, and blammo—you’ve got yourself “cornbread.”

Leave a Reply

